Industry News

GCSAA announces Watson Fellowship Grant winners

EIFG, The Toro Company fund 3 postgraduate grants

Lawrence, Kan. (Jan. 21, 2020) – Paige Boyle, Clint Mattox and Timothy Lulis are being recognized as Watson Fellows with a $5,000 award from the Golf Course Superintendents Association of America (GCSAA). The Watson Fellowship is funded by The Toro Company and is awarded by the GCSAA's philanthropic organization, the Environmental Institute for Golf (EIFG).

The fellowship, started in 1998, is named after the late James R. Watson, Ph.D., a pioneer and visionary in turfgrass research and a vice president at The Toro Company. The fellowship recognizes students in postgraduate degree programs who have been identified as promising scientists who will go on to be future leaders, teachers and researchers in turfgrass management.

“Turfgrass research is a vital part of the golf course industry and helps provide our member superintendents with the information they need to manage healthy turf,” GCSAA CEO Rhett Evans said. “Thanks to our friends at Toro, we are proud to assist Paige, Clint and Timothy with their important studies.”

Boyle is a doctoral candidate at Utah State University whose research is focused on clover inclusion in seed mixtures to reduce nitrogen and herbicide applications. Mattox is a doctoral candidate at Oregon State University and is working to identify products and practices to suppress Microdochium patch. Lulis is pursuing a master’s degree at Pennsylvania State University studying the impact of management strategies on putting greens during tournament preparation.

“Leadership in turfgrass science and research is an important part of what Dr. Watson contributed to the industry,” said Josh Friell, Ph.D, Research Scientist at The Toro Company. “By working to address key industry challenges, Paige, Clint, and Timothy are helping to carry on that legacy.”

Watson was a visionary and a leading authority on turfgrasses. He was vice president of customer relations and chief agronomist for The Toro Company. The winner of the USGA Green Section Award in 1976 and the 1977 Agronomic Service Award by the American Society of Agronomy, Watson was named a Fellow of the American Society of Agronomy and the Crop Science Society of America in 1979. He also won the 1991 Harry Gill Memorial Award from the Sports Turf Managers Association; the Old Tom Morris Award, a special GCSAA honor, in 1995; and the Donald Rossi Award from the Golf Course Builders Association of America.

Over the course of five decades at The Toro Company, Watson advised customers and conducted research on the adaptability of species and strains of turfgrasses, fertilization practices, snow mold prevention techniques for the winter protection of turfgrasses and more. He authored more than 400 articles on turfgrass cultural practices and water conservation.

GCSAA logo

About GCSAA and the EIFG
The Golf Course Superintendents Association of America (GCSAA) is a leading golf organization in the United States. Its focus is on golf course management, and since 1926 GCSAA has been the top professional association for the men and women who manage golf courses in the U.S. and worldwide. From its headquarters in Lawrence, Kan., the association provides education, information and representation to nearly 19,000 members in more than 78 countries. The association’s mission is to serve its members, advance their profession and enhance the enjoyment, growth and vitality of the game of golf. Visit GCSAA at, or find us on Facebook or Twitter. Visit our industry-leading magazine at

The Environmental Institute for Golf is the philanthropic organization of the GCSAA. Its mission is to foster sustainability through research, awareness, education, programs and scholarships for the benefit of golf course management professionals, golf facilities and the game. Visit EIFG at, or find us on Facebook or Twitter.

Angela Hartmann
Director, Marketing and Communications
Phone: 800-472-7878, ext. 3647 or 785-393-1361 (cell)

Mike Strauss
Manager, Media Relations
Phone: 800-472-7878, ext. 5164