News & Opinion

2020 PGA: Rickie Fowler tries to get cute, but it turns ugly

Rickie Fowler 2020 PGA Championship 2nd round
Rickie Fowler, who missed the cut at the PGA Championship, will get the weekend off at a major event for the 1st time since the 2016 U.S. Open.

American stubs a would-be tap-in late in the round and misses the cut by 1 stroke, ending his streak of 14 consecutive cuts made at major championships

Don’t try this one at home, kids.

Rickie Fowler missed the cut in a major championship for the first time in his past 14 starts in golf’s biggest events, and it was in no small part because of a flubbed one-handed attempted tap-in.

Fowler attempted to one-hand a 6-inch bogey putt on the par-4 sixth hole, his 15th of the day, on Friday at TPC Harding Park in San Francisco. He stubbed his putter and barely nicked the ball.

“I hit it,” Fowler said with a wry smile, adding: “Not hard enough.

“In a way, it’s a reminder to not take anything for granted.”

Fowler recorded a double bogey, then added a bogey on No. 8 in shooting 1-under 69 for a 2-over 142 total, one stroke outside of the 36-hole cut (scores).

Fowler, 31, a five-time winner on the PGA Tour, hadn’t missed a cut since the 2016 U.S. Open. In 2014, he finished in the top five in all four major championships. He will have to take his quest for his first major title to Winged Foot Golf Club in Mamaroneck, N.Y., the site of next month’s U.S. Open.

Fowler wasn’t the only one to flame out on Friday. Germany’s Martin Kaymer, whose two major championships include the 2010 PGA, followed a first-round 66 with a 12-over 82 and a weekend off.

A number of former major champions joined Fowler and Kaymer in making an early exit. Among them: Jason Dufner, Jim Furyk, Zach Johnson, Henrik Stenson, Lucas Glover, Keegan Bradley, Graeme McDowell and Sergio Garcia.

Cameron Tringale, who had posted a 2-under 68 for an apparent 141 total, was disqualified after he returned to the scoring area to point out that he had signed for a 3 on the eighth hole when he actually made a 4. Under Rule 3.3 (“Wrong Score for a Hole”), he was disqualified for having signed for a score lower than what he actually made. According to Golf Digest, Tringale was eating lunch when he checked the tournament app and noticed his mistake.

Sign up to receive the Morning Read newsletter, along with Where To Golf Next and The Equipment Insider.