News & Opinion

2020 PGA Championship: Latest betting odds, favorites and sleeper picks for TPC Harding Park

Brooks Koepka 2019 Tour Championship
Oddsmakers like Brooks Koepka and his chances to win a 3rd consecutive Wanamaker Trophy this week in the PGA Championship at San Francisco's TPC Harding Park.

Despite short odds, co-favorite Brooks Koepka appears to be a good pick to win a 3rd Wanamaker Trophy

It was a welcome return to the winner’s circle for our weekly picks with one of the favorites, Justin Thomas, holding off this week’s favorite, Brooks Koepka. Stumbling on two of the last three holes, Koepka could not catch Thomas to force a playoff at the WGC FedEx St. Jude Invitational in Memphis, Tenn.

At age 27, Thomas owns 13 PGA Tour victories, matching Tiger Woods, Jack Nicklaus, Rory McIlroy and Phil Mickelson as the youngest players to reach the mark. Elsewhere, Hideki Matsuyama continued his steady play at WGC events with another T-20 finish, but Danny Willett failed to impress during the “no-cut” week.

We now arrive at our first major of 2020, the PGA Championship at TPC Harding Park in San Francisco. Though the course lacks major-championship experience, the municipal gem is no stranger to hosting the game’s best players. Harding Park, on Lake Merced, has played host to the 2005 WGC American Express, the 2009 Presidents Cup and three Charles Schwab Cup events on the Champions Tour, in 2010, 2011 and 2013. Plus, it hosts the annual San Francisco City Championship, which to Bay Area golfers might as well be a major. The Bay Area prides itself on diversity, but this week is strictly for the professionals in what is shaping up to be a clash of the titans in Northern California.

According to William Hill, Thomas, the new world No. 1 and current FedEx Cup leader, is the co-favorite with two-time defending PGA champion Brooks Koepka at 10-1. Bryson DeChambeau, a winner last month in Detroit and looking for his first major title, was listed at 11-1. Rory McIlroy, a two-time PGA champion, was a 14-1 choice with recent Memorial winner Jon Rahm.

Among the favorites, we are going with Koepka. Though there is not much value on him at 10-1, his dominance on the major stage in the past few years – four major titles since 2017 – is undeniable. Despite a poor finish in Memphis, where he tied for second, Koepka appears to be peaking again, and that is bad news for the rest of the field. Look for Koepka to be extra motivated to win a third consecutive Wanamaker Trophy.

Our midrange pick at Harding Park is Webb Simpson, at 28-1. His game also seems to be trending to where it was seven weeks ago when he won the RBC Heritage. With narrow fairways (some only 22 yards wide), driving accuracy will be paramount this week. Simpson ranks 19th on the Tour in accuracy off the tee and is first in birdie average, which is a good combination to contend this week.

The sleeper pick for this week is Matthew Wolff, at 90-1. At 21, the one-time Tour winner possesses the skillset to make some noise in his first major appearance. He ranks eighth in driving distance on Tour, so let’s see whether he can hit some fairways and contend this weekend.

2020 picks scoreboard:
Winners: 3
Top 10s: 6
Top 25s: 3
Misses: 9

Here are the full-field odds, according to William Hill:

Brooks Koepka 10-1
Justin Thomas 10-1
Bryson DeChambeau 11-1
Rory McIlroy 14-1
Jon Rahm 14-1
Dustin Johnson 20-1
Xander Schauffele 22-1
Tiger Woods 22-1
Patrick Cantlay 24-1
Webb Simpson 28-1
Collin Morikawa 35-1
Rickie Fowler 40-1
Hideki Matsuyama 40-1
Jason Day 40-1
Daniel Berger 40-1
Viktor Hovland 40-1
Tony Finau 45-1
Patrick Reed 45-1
Matthew Fitzpatrick 45-1
Tommy Fleetwood 45-1
Tyrrell Hatton 50-1
Gary Woodland 50-1
Justin Rose 55-1
Jordan Spieth 55-1
Adam Scott 55-1
Abraham Ancer 55-1
Paul Casey 66-1
Sergio Garcia 66-1
Louis Oosthuizen 66-1
Marc Leishman 66-1
Matt Kuchar 66-1
Sungjae Im 66-1
Shane Lowry 70-1
Henrik Stenson 80-1
Brendon Todd 80-1
Phil Mickelson 80-1
Matthew Wolff 90-1
Bubba Watson 100-1
Billy Horschel 100-1
Scottie Scheffler 100-1
Byeong Hun An 100-1
Joaquin Niemann 100-1
Adam Hadwin 100-1
Chez Reavie 100-1
Matt Wallace 100-1
Danny Willett 100-1
Max Homa 125-1
Kevin Kisner 125-1
Harris English 125-1
Kevin Streelman 125-1
Ian Poulter 125-1
Tom Lewis 125-1
Cameron Champ 125-1
Matt Wallace 125-1
Corey Conners 150-1
Emiliano Grillo 150-1
Kevin Na 150-1
Michael Thompson 150-1
Joel Dahmen 150-1
Bernd Wiesberger 150-1
Brendan Steele 150-1
Martin Kaymer 150-1
Rory Sabbatini 150-1
Erik van Rooyen 150-1
Christiaan Bezuidenhout 150-1
Brandt Snedeker 150-1
Charl Schwartzel 150-1
Lucas Glover 150-1
Ryan Moore 200-1
Haotong Li 200-1
Danny Lee 200-1
Sepp Straka 200-1
Sung-Hoon Kang 200-1
Kurt Kitayama 200-1
Cameron Smith 200-1
Zach Johnson 200-1
Rafa Cabrera Bello 200-1
Dylan Frittelli 200-1
Scott Piercy 200-1
Matthias Schwab 200-1
Graeme McDowell 200-1
Cameron Tringale 200-1
Joost Luiten 200-1
Russell Henley 200-1
Troy Merritt 200-1
Mackenzie Hughes 200-1
Keegan Bradley 200-1
Brian Harman 200-1
Luke List 200-1
Si-Woo Kim 200-1
Jason Kokrak 200-1
Doc Redman 200-1
Robert MacIntyre 200-1
J.T. Poston 200-1
Ryan Palmer 200-1
Adam Long 200-1
Keith Mitchell 250-1
Jason Dufner 250-1
Wyndham Clark 250-1
Talor Gooch 250-1
Lanto Griffin 250-1
Nick Taylor 250-1
Andrew Putnam 250-1
Harold Varner III 250-1
Jim Furyk 250-1
Matt Jones 300-1
C.T. Pan 300-1
Bud Cauley 300-1
Vaughn Taylor 300-1
Marcus Kinhult 300-1
Andrew Landry 300-1
Denny McCarthy 300-1
Jazz Janewattananond 3-1
Victor Perez 300-1
Sebastian Munoz 300-1
Joohyung Kim 300-1
Jimmy Walker 350-1
Carlos Ortiz 400-1
Tyler Duncan 400-1
Benjamin Hebert 400-1
Mike Lorenzo-Vera 400-1
Tom Hoge 400-1
Mark Hubbard 400-1
Jorge Campillo 400-1
Shaun Norris 500-1
Brian Stuard 500-1
Steve Stricker 500-1
Zach J. Johnson 500-1
Lucas Herbert 500-1
Ryo Ishikawa 500-1
Chan Kim 500-1
Nate Lashley 500-1
Davis Love III 750-1
Jim Herman 750-1
Ken Tanigawa 1000-1
Rod Perry 1000-1
Rich Beem 1000-1
Shaun Micheel 1500-1
Alex Knoll 1500-1
Jeff Hart 1500-1
Rob Labritz 1500-1
Jason Caron 1500-1
Ryan Vermeer 1500-1
Justin Bertsch 1500-1
Shawn Warren 1500-1
Alex Beach 1500-1
Judd Gibb 2000-1
Michael Auterson 2000-1
Ben Cook 2000-1
Rich Berberian 2000-1
John O'Leary 2000-1
David Muttitt 2000-1
Danny Balin 2000-1
Jeff Roth 2000-1
Bob Sowards 2000-1
Marty Jertson 2000-1

Sign up to receive the Morning Read newsletter, along with Where To Golf Next and The Equipment Insider.