Keeping Score

Keeping score

Matthew Fitzpatrick will seek a 3rd consecutive victory in the Swiss Alps.


Number of players who have won three consecutive titles at the Omega European Masters. England’s Matthew Fitzpatrick, the two-time defending champion, will seek to become the first three-peat winner when the European Tour event begins today at Crans-sur-Sierre Golf Club in Crans Montana, Switzerland. Last year, Fitzpatrick became the first repeat winner in the Swiss Alps since the late Seve Ballesteros, in 1978 (tee times).


Number of consecutive years that Lara Tennant and Sue Wooster will have met in the U.S. Senior Women's Amateur final match. Tennant, the defending champion from Portland, Ore., and Wooster, of Australia, won two matches Wednesday at Cedar Rapids (Iowa) Country Club to earn a rematch at 8:30 a.m. CDT today. Last year, Tennant won, 3 and 2, at Orchid Island Golf & Beach Golf Club in Vero Beach, Fla. This will be the first rematch in a USGA championship match since 2013-14, when Julia Potter-Bobb and Margaret "Shirley" Starosto played in U.S. Women’s Mid-Amateur final. Potter-Bobb won in 2013, and Starosto prevailed in 2014 (scores).


Number of Champions Tour players scheduled to compete at this week’s Shaw Charity Classic in Calgary, Alberta, who won PGA Tour events in Canada. Mark Calcavecchia (2005), Billy Andrade (1998), Steve Jones (1997, 1989), Mark O’Meara (1995), Vijay Singh (2004) and David Frost (1993) won the RBC Canadian Open, and Calcavecchia (1997), Brandel Chamblee (1998) and Gene Sauers (2002) won the Air Canada Championship. Play begins Friday at Canyon Meadows Golf and Country Club (tee times).


Number of professional victories, including two co-sanctioned by the European and Asian tours, for India’s Anirban Lahiri, who is entered in this week’s Korn Ferry Tour Championship. Lahiri, 32, has two consecutive finishes of seventh or better on the PGA Tour’s top developmental circuit and will be among the favorites when play begins Friday at Victoria National Golf Club in Newburgh, Ind. Lahiri, a 12-time winner on the Professional Golf Tour of India, won the Maybank Malaysian Open and the Hero Indian Open in 2015, when he rose to a career-high 33rd in the world ranking. Via the Korn Ferry finals, he is seeking to qualify for a fifth consecutive season on the PGA Tour (tee times).


Number of holes that Bob Royak needed to defeat defending champion Jeff Wilson in the semifinals Wednesday of the U.S. Senior Amateur at Old Chatham Golf Club in Durham, N.C. Royak, 57, of Alpharetta, Ga., will meet Roger Newsom, 55, of Virginia Beach, Va., who held off Rick Cloninger in the other semifinal. The 18-hole final match was scheduled for 7:45 a.m. EDT today (scores).


Number of years that the LPGA has played in Portland, Ore. The Cambia Portland Classic, which begins today at Columbia Edgewater Country Club, dates to 1972. The Portland stop is the LPGA’s longest-running non-major competition. The event was played in 1977-82 as an unofficial team event, and it was cancelled in 2001 because of the Sept. 11 terrorist attacks (tee times).


Related Stories