News & Opinion

In the news

Named: Conrad Ray, as winner of the Dave Williams National Coach of the Year Award, after his Stanford Cardinal won the recent NCAA Division I men’s championship. Ray will be presented the award Dec. 9 at the Golf Coaches Association of America’s national convention in Las Vegas. The other award winners: Lynn’s Andy Walker (Division II), Illinois Wesleyan’s Jim Ott (Division III), Texas Wesleyan’s Bobby Cornett (NAIA), Midland College’s Walt Williams (NJCAA Division I) and South Mountain’s Aaron Puetz (NJCAA Division II).