News & Opinion

In the news

Suspended: Hank Haney, by SiriusXM PGA Tour Radio, after the golf instructor’s comments about women’s golf on his satellite-radio show were criticized as being racially and sexually insensitive (“If Haney feels remorse, next step is key,” May 30). In a joint statement, Sirius XM and the PGA Tour said: “Mr. Haney’s comments on women’s professional golf were insensitive and do not represent the views of the PGA Tour or SiriusXM. The PGA Tour is committed to and proud of the increasingly diverse makeup of our fan base, not to mention the power and accomplishments of the game’s world-class, global players – both on the PGA Tour and LPGA, whom we are working with more closely than ever before. SiriusXM proudly covers and supports both women’s and men’s golf and the athletes that make them great. At the PGA Tour’s instruction, Mr. Haney has been suspended from the SiriusXM PGA Tour Radio channel. SiriusXM is reviewing his status on SiriusXM going forward.” Haney accepted the suspension and reiterated his apology.

Named: Oklahoma State’s Matthew Wolff, as winner of the Jack Nicklaus Award as the Division I college player of the year. Wolff and the other division winners – Barry’s Jorge Garcia (Division II), Hope’s Josh Gibson (Division III), Coastal Georgia’s Mark David Johnson (NAIA) and Midland College’s Callum Bruce (NJCAA) – will be honored by Nicklaus on Sunday, before the final round of the Memorial Tournament in Dublin, Ohio. The five also will participate in the Barbasol Shootout on Saturday at Ohio State’s Scarlet Course in Columbus, Ohio. The winner will receive an exemption into the PGA Tour’s Barbasol Championship, to be played July 18-21 at Champions at Keene Trace in Lexington, Ky. Wolff, the recent NCAA medalist from Agoura Hills, Calif., won an exemption into the 2020 Memorial Tournament.