News & Opinion

In the news

Named: Greg McLaughlin, to the combined posts of overseeing the World Golf Foundation, The First Tee and the World Golf Hall of Fame. He will be chief executive officer of the WGF, which represents golf’s major organizations in supporting the game worldwide; president of The First Tee, which introduces the game to youngsters; and chief executive of the Hall of Fame. The positions had been held by three executives. The WGF’s Steve Mona will help McLaughlin with the transition before retiring next year; Keith Dawkins had left The First Tee in October after one year; and Jack Peter will retire this year as the hall’s president. Since 2015, McLaughlin headed the Champions Tour. He previously had been CEO of the Tiger Woods Foundation. Miller Brady was promoted to succeed McLaughlin as president of the Champions Tour.

Awarded: Minjee Lee, with the Greg Norman Medal as Australia’s best-performing golfer, male or female, on the international stage in 2018. Lee, 22, of Perth, won the Ladies European Tour’s Oates Victorian Open in Australia in February and added her fourth career LPGA title, the LPGA Volvik Championship, in May. She stands No. 6 in the world rankings. Lee is the first woman to win the medal, which is in its fourth year. Jason Day won in 2015 and 2016, and Marc Leishman was honored in 2017.

Shuffled: The 2019 Australian PGA Championship, which will precede the Australian Open in order to accommodate the Presidents Cup in mid-December. The Australian PGA will be played Nov. 28-Dec. 1 at RACV Royal Pines Resort on the Gold Coast, followed by the Australian Open on Dec. 8-11 at The Australian in Sydney. The Presidents Cup, matching the host Internationals against the Americans, will be played Dec. 12-15 at Royal Melbourne.