News & Opinion

In the news

Named: By the LPGA as its player of the year, Ariya Jutanugarn, who holds an insurmountable lead in the points standings with three tournaments remaining this year. Jutanugarn, 22, of Thailand, won three times this year, including the U.S. Women’s Open, and added 12 more top-10 finishes in 25 starts. She also won the POY honor in 2016, when she won five times.

Voted: By his peers on the PGA Tour, Aaron Wise as rookie of the year for the 2017-18 season, the Tour announced. Wise, 22, an American, won the AT&T Byron Nelson and was the only rookie to advance to the season-ending Tour Championship, finishing 24th in the FedEx Cup standings.