From The Inbox

From the Morning Read inbox

OB rule leaves a house divided in New Hampshire
Thank you for the article on the inequitable out-of-bounds rule (“Simplest rules fix of all: Allow drop on OB,” Oct. 16).

As writer Mike Purkey pointed out, virtually no one, save in competition, follows this rule. It seems incongruous to apply a different rule for an OB than a shot into a lateral hazard, etc. Why not label all out-of-play places merely “hazards” and assess a penalty of one stroke from where the misguided ball entered the “hazard”?

My wife and I constantly debate the rationale for the difference, usually just after I have OB’d it in one of our friendly matches. Her argument is that the OB rule is intended to be more penal because a shot going OB generally goes off the property of the golf course, whereas the lateral-hazard shot remains in the confines of the venue. My retort is that both shots are hit in places that usually are unplayable, so why the difference in penalty? I never win this argument, and dutifully reload from the initial shot and get assessed the stroke penalty. Ouch.

It might be a good follow-up for Morning Read to explain why the USGA believes that an OB shot warrants a heftier penalty, e.g., what is the rationale?

If the quest for simplifying the rules, and speeding up the game, was the USGA’s primary guide-star for many of the new/revised rules, what could have been simpler and more efficient than having a consistent rule for all lost/errant shots?

Ted Comstock
Lancaster, N.H.


Morning Read invites reader comment. Write to editor Steve Harmon at steve@morningread.com. Please provide your name and city of residence. If your comment is selected for publication, Morning Read will contact you to verify the authenticity of the email and confirm your identity. We will not publish your email address. We reserve the right to edit for clarity and brevity.