News & Opinion

In the news

Announced: By the World Golf Hall of Fame, its 2019 class. Retief Goosen, a South African whose 33 worldwide victories include two U.S. Opens; Jan Stephenson, an Australian who won 16 times on the LPGA, including three major championships; the late Peggy Kirk Bell, a charter member of the LPGA; Billy Payne, the innovative former chairman of Augusta National Golf Club; and Dennis Walters, the paraplegic trick-shot artist who has conducted more than 3,000 worldwide golf exhibitions from a wheelchair. Goosen and Stephenson were chosen from the male and female competitor categories, respectively; Bell, Payne and Walters were selected for lifetime achievement (related recent commentary in Morning Read: “ ‘Handsome Johnny’ would shine in bronze,” Oct. 8; “Dead men give lousy hall induction talks,” Oct. 9).

Agreed: By the PGA of America, with CBS Sports and ESPN, to an 11-year deal for multimedia rights for the PGA Championship, beginning in 2020. The agreement calls for live, full-field coverage of the 72-hole event spanning 175 hours across broadcast, cable and digital platforms. CBS has been the home of the PGA since 1991. The addition of ESPN bumps Turner Sports from the broadcasting tower. Beginning next year, the PGA moves from its traditional August date to May as the PGA Tour reworked its schedule to conclude the playoffs before Labor Day and the start of football.