News & Opinion

In the news

Reported: By Kate Wynja, a Sioux Falls (S.D.) Christian Schools senior who had just won the Class A girls state golf tournament on Tuesday, that she had signed for a lower score than she actually made on the final hole, according to a report in the Sioux Falls Argus Leader. The violation, under Rule 6-6d, was met with a disqualification, costing Wynja a second consecutive state title and dropping her team from first place to runner-up. “I knew I needed to tell them,” Wynja told the Argus Leader. “It was really sad, mostly because I knew what the result would be. I knew that I would be disqualified, and it broke my heart for the team. But I knew I couldn’t leave without saying something.”

Released: By Dublin (Ohio) police, details in the crash that injured PGA Tour player Bud Cauley and three others late Friday near the site of the Memorial Tournament. According to the Columbus Dispatch, David Crawford, 37, a doctor from Upper Arlington, Ohio, was driving a 2014 BMW near Muirfield Village Golf Club when the car exited the road, struck a culvert and went airborne before hitting a large tree. Cauley underwent what he described on his Instagram account as “successful surgery” after incurring a collapsed lung, broken leg and broken ribs. James Wisniewski, a former player with the NHL’s Columbus Blue Jackets, also was injured. No charges have been filed, but the accident remains under investigation.

Named: Winners of college golf’s two most prestigious individual honors: Arkansas’ Maria Fassi, a junior from Mexico, won the Annika Award the top female golfer, and Norman Xiong, an Oregon sophomore who was born in Guam and raised in California, won the Haskins Award as the top male golfer.

Honored: Oklahoma State coach Alan Bratton, with the Dave Williams National Coach of the Year Award, the Golf Coaches Association of America announced. Bratton’s Cowboys won the recent NCAA Division I title. Other winners: Lynn’s Andrew Danna (Division II), Methodist’s Steve Conley (Division III), Oklahoma City’s Kyle Blaser (NAIA), Indian Hills’ Nathan Weant (NJCAA Division I) and Mississippi Gulf Coast’s Tommy Snell (NJCAA Division II).