Keeping Score

Keeping score


Number of strokes under par that leader Maverick McNealy, who shot a bogey-free 64, stands in the Tour’s United Leasing and Finance Championship at Victoria National Golf Club in Newburgh, Ind. McNealy made four birdies on each side for a one-stroke lead on Brock McKenzie, who birdied his last two holes, Nos. 8 and 9 (scores).


Number of strokes under par that the teams of Americans Chez Reavie-Lucas Glover and Chinese Xinjun Zhang-Zecheng Dou shot Thursday in the four-balls (better ball) format of the first round in the PGA Tour’s Zurich Classic of New Orleans at TPC Louisiana in Avondale, La. Today’s play will consist of foursomes (alternate shot) before the 36-hole cut (scores).


First-round score for Daxing Jin, who held a one-stroke lead in the Volvo China Open. Jin, 25, of China, posted six birdies and an eagle, with a chip-in at the par-5 eighth hole, to post an 8-under score in his national open at Topwin Golf and Country Club in Beijing. Jin, at No. 1,426 in the Official World Golf Ranking, is playing in only his eighth European Tour event. Italy’s Nino Bertasio and England’s Matt Wallace were one stroke behind (scores).


First-round score for the five co-leaders – American Jessica Korda, Swede Caroline Hedwall, South Korean In-Kyung Kim, New Zealander Lydia Ko and Australian Su Oh – in the first round of the LPGA Mediheal Championship. They stand 4 under entering today’s second round at Lake Merced Golf Club in Daly City, Calif. (scores).


Number of entries received by the U.S. Golf Association for the 2018 U.S. Open, to be played June 14-17 at Shinnecock Hills Golf Club in Southampton, N.Y. It is the seventh consecutive year that the USGA has received 9,000-plus entries for the national championship. This year’s total ranks eighth all-time. The 2014 Open at Pinehurst (N.C.) Resort received a record 10,127 entries. Local qualifying will be held April 30-May 17, followed by sectional qualifying on May 21-June 4. Fifty-four golfers are fully exempt into the Open, including defending champion Brooks Koepka and 11 other past Open winners.

Related Stories