Keeping Score

Keeping score


Number of three-time winners of the ANA Inspiration, the LPGA season’s first major championship, which begins today at Mission Hills Country Club in Rancho Mirage, Calif. Amy Alcott (1983, ’88, ’91), Betsy King (1987, ’90, ’97) and Annika Sorenstam (2001, ’02, ’05), all members of the World Golf Hall of Fame, are three-time winners of the event. Brittany Lincicome (2009, ’15), who already has won once this year, has a chance to join them (tee times).


Number of years that former teen phenom Ty Tryon, who Monday-qualified into this week’s Web.comTour Savannah Golf Championship, has played in a PGA Tour-sanctioned event. Tryon, 33, turned professional at 17 and earned a PGA Tour card via the 2001 Q-School. He last held conditional status on the Tour in 2012 (tee times).


Number of players who are competing in the Houston Open, which begins today at the Golf Club of Houston’s Tournament Course in Humble, Texas (tee times), and in next week’s Masters: Daniel Berger, Rafael Cabrera Bello, Jason Dufner, Tony Finau, Rickie Fowler, Dylan Frittelli, Russell Henley, Yuta Ikeda, Martin Kaymer, Matt Kuchar, Phil Mickelson, Thomas Pieters, Chez Reavie, Justin Rose, Shubhankar Sharma, Jordan Spieth, Henrik Stenson and Jhonattan Vegas. One spot remains open for the Houston Open winner to qualify for the Masters, provided that he has not already earned an invitation.

Related Stories