Keeping Score

0 - Number of Cuts Made for Tony Romo

Number of cuts made, in three previous starts on the PGA Tour, for Tony Romo, who received a sponsor exemption into this week’s Safeway Open in Napa, Calif. Romo, 39, the former Dallas Cowboys quarterback, missed qualifying for weekend play at the 2018 and 2019 Corales Puntacana Resort & Club Championship and the 2019 AT&T Byron Nelson. His scores ranged from 74 to 82 in the six rounds. If Romo, an NFL analyst on CBS, were to make the cut this week, he would skip his scheduled broadcast with Jim Nantz at the Vikings-Bears game in Chicago. Romo will join 17-year-old American Akshay Bhatia, who missed the cut in his pro debut last week at the Sanderson Farms Championship, and former major champions Fred Couples and John Daly as sponsor invitees to Silverado Resort & Spa’s North Course (tee times).

Number of previous editions of the LPGA’s Indy Women in Tech Championship, which begins today at Brickyard Crossing Golf Course in Indianapolis. The tournament debuted in 2017 as a 54-hole event, which was won by American Lexi Thompson. Last year, South Korea’s Sung Hyun Park won the expanded 72-hole edition. Traditional holes 7-10, located inside the 2½-mile Indianapolis Motor Speedway, will play this week as Nos. 15-18 (tee times).

Number of players from the top five in the Official World Golf Ranking who are entered in the European Tour’s Alfred Dunhill Links Championship, which begins today in St. Andrews, Scotland. No. 2 Rory McIlroy of Northern Ireland, No. 4 Justin Rose of England and No. 5 Jon Rahm of Spain are in Scotland after all registered top-10 finishes in last week’s BMW PGA Championship. In the two-man team event at St. Andrews, a touring pro and his amateur partner will rotate among the Old Course, Carnoustie and Kingsbarns for the first three days. After 54 holes, the top 60 professionals and ties, plus the 20 lowest-scoring pro-am teams, will return to the Old Course for Sunday’s final round (tee times).

Number of players in this week’s Pure Insurance Championship at Pebble Beach (Calif.) Golf Links and Poppy Hills Golf Course who won the PGA Tour’s Pebble Beach Pro-Am. Tom Kite (1983), Steve Jones (1988), Peter Jacobsen (1995), Davis Love III (2001, 2003), Mark O’Meara (1985, 1989, 1990, 1992, 1997) and Vijay Singh (2004) won the PGA Tour’s annual stop on the Monterey Peninsula. Play in the Champions Tour event begins Friday (tee times).

Related Stories