Keeping Score

Bryson DeChambeau joins Tiger Woods in elite club

Only Woods and DeChambeau have won a U.S. Amateur, U.S. Open and invitationals hosted by Jack Nicklaus and Arnold Palmer

2: Number of golfers who have won the U.S. Amateur, U.S. Open and the PGA Tour invitationals hosted by Jack Nicklaus and the late Arnold Palmer. Only Tiger Woods and now Bryson DeChambeau, the winner of the recent Arnold Palmer Invitational, have accomplished the feat. However, Woods, an 82-time winner on the PGA Tour, beats DeChambeau, who owns eight victories on the PGA Tour, on sheer volume. Woods won three consecutive U.S. Amateur titles, in 1994-96, added three U.S. Opens (2000, 2002, 2008), five of Nicklaus’ Memorials (1999, 2000, 2001, 2009, 2012) and eight Arnold Palmer Invitationals (2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2008, 2009, 2012, 2013). DeChambeau, the 2015 U.S. Amateur champion, also won the 2020 U.S. Open and the 2018 Memorial before claiming the API on Sunday. There is one area in which DeChambeau could claim a draw with Woods, however. Each won an NCAA individual title: Woods in 1996 with Stanford, and DeChambeau in 2015 with Southern Methodist.

Sign up to receive the Morning Read newsletter, along with Where To Golf Next and The Equipment Insider.

Related Stories