Keeping Score

25 past champions highlight LPGA’s 2021 opener

Diamond Resorts Tournament of Champions matches women’s winners with celebrities from worlds of sports and entertainment

25: Number of LPGA winners from 2018, 2019 and 2020 who will compose the field for the Diamond Resorts Tournament of Champions, which begins Thursday at Four Seasons Golf and Sports Club Orlando in Florida. Among the champions, Mexico’s Gaby Lopez will return to defend her title from last year, when she needed seven extra holes – extending into Monday – to defeat Japan’s Nasa Hataoka. Three players from the top 10 of the Rolex Rankings – No. 4 Nelly Korda of the U.S., No. 5 Danielle Kang of the U.S. and No. 6 Brooke Henderson of Canada – will highlight the field. The tournament, in its third year, also will feature a 53-player celebrity field from the worlds of sports and entertainment, including 72-time LPGA champion Annika Sorenstam. The pros will compete over 72 holes of stroke play, with no cut. The amateurs will play 72 holes of modified Stableford scoring (tee times).

Sign up to receive the Morning Read newsletter, along with Where To Golf Next and The Equipment Insider.

Related Stories