Keeping Score

2020 Sanderson Farms: It's made for 1st-time PGA Tour winners

6 consecutive winners of the Sanderson Farms Championship have posted their initial victories at Country Club of Jackson

6: Number of consecutive years that the Sanderson Farms Championship has crowned a first-time winner on the PGA Tour. Those winners: Nick Taylor (2014), Peter Malnati (2015), Cody Gribble (2016), Ryan Armour (2017), Cameron Champ (2018) and Sebastian Munoz (2019). Taylor, Malnati, Armour and Munoz are entered in this year’s event, which begins Thursday at Country Club of Jackson in Mississippi (tee times). The tournament has been an official event on the PGA Tour since 1994, but it dates to 1968, when it was known as the Magnolia State Classic – locals called it the Mississippi Masters – and played at Hattiesburg Country Club.

Sign up to receive the Morning Read newsletter, along with Where To Golf Next and The Equipment Insider.

Related Stories