Keeping Score

Rory McIlroy seeks to be Players’ 1st back-to-back winner

As defending champion, Northern Irishman will headline 47 of world’s top 50 at TPC Sawgrass’ Stadium Course

0: Number of times that the defending champion has repeated to win the Players Championship in the 46-year history of the PGA Tour’s flagship event. Northern Ireland’s Rory McIlroy, the 2019 winner, has yet to repeat as champion after any of his 18 victories on the PGA Tour. McIlroy, 30, is No. 1 in the Official World Golf Ranking and has finished fifth or better in seven consecutive starts worldwide dating to October, including a victory at the WGC HSBC Champions. Forty-seven of the top 50 players in the world, including all of the top 10, are entered in the $15 million event, which will pay $2.7 million to the winner. Play begins Thursday at TPC Sawgrass’ Stadium Course in Ponte Vedra Beach, Fla. This will be the first Players event since the death of course designer Pete Dye in January (tee times).

Sign up to receive the Morning Read newsletter, along with Where To Golf Next and The Equipment Insider.

Related Stories