Keeping Score

Maggert's walk-off eagle wins Champions Tour finale

Jeff Maggert jars 123-yard wedge shot on 3rd playoff hole to outlast Retief Goosen and hand season title to Scott McCarron

2: Score, an eagle, for American Jeff Maggert on the third playoff hole as he edged South Africa’s Retief Goosen to win the Champions Tour’s Charles Schwab Cup Championship on Sunday in Phoenix. Maggert holed out with a pitching wedge from 123 yards after Goosen had struck his approach shot from a fairway bunker to 10 feet below the hole at the par-4 17th at Phoenix Country Club. Maggert and Goosen had tied at 21-under 263 after 72 holes in the 50-and-older tour’s season finale. Maggert’s victory handed the season points title to three-time winner Scott McCarron, who finished T-27 but had entered the event atop the season standings. Maggert and Goosen matched scores on the first two playoff holes – pars on the par-5 18th and then birdies on the second return to the closing hole – setting the stage for Maggert’s theatrics. It was Maggert’s first victory on the Champions Tour since 2015 and his sixth overall (scores).

6: Number of tournaments that Ai Suzuki, a rising star in Japan, has won this season after she claimed the LPGA’s Toto Japan Classic in Otsu. Suzuki, 25, has won five times on the Japan LPGA this year before winning her first title on the LPGA. Suzuki shot a final-round 5-under 67 for a 17-under 199 total and three-stroke victory at Seta Golf Club. South Korea’s Hyo Joo Kim (66) placed second at 14-under 202, followed by Australia’s Minjee Lee (68) at 11-under 205. American rookie Jennifer Kupcho (68) shared fourth with China’s Jing Yan (68) at 10-under 206. Suzuki, a non-LPGA member, has until Nov. 18 to accept tour membership for the 2020 season. She is the third LPGA winner from Japan this season, joining Nasa Hataoka (Kia Classic) and Hinako Shibuno (Women’s British Open). It was the fourth and final event of the LPGA’s four-tournament Asia Swing. The season concludes with the CME Group Tour Championship on Nov. 21-24 in Naples, Fla. (scores).

Related Stories