Industry News

Hollis Stacy, Jan Stephenson win $25,000 for charity at Spirit Hall of Fame Game

Former LPGA greats win title at Whispering Pines Golf Club in Trinity, Texas

Trinity, Texas (Dec. 4, 2019) – Local Hall of Famers and celebrities gathered for a day of fun and golf while raising money for charity in the inaugural Spirit Hall of Fame Game held Nov. 17-18 at Whispering Pines Golf Club in Trinity, Texas.

Spirit Founder Corby Robertson, Jr., welcomed the field which included Willie Alexander, Elvin Bethea, Murry Bowden, Clyde Drexler, Larry Gatlin, Jack Ingram, Charlie Joiner, Ed Marinaro, Calvin Murphy, Dan Pastorini, Nolan Ryan, Reid Ryan, Ken Schrom, RC Slocum, Jan Stephenson and Hollis Stacy.

Winning foursome: Jan Stephenson (left) and Hollis Stacy (right) joined Brandon Barker and Spirit Golf Association member and sponsor Tim Burchfield to capture first place in the Spirit Hall of Fame Game at Whispering Pines Golf Club.

Jan Stephenson and Hollis Stacy teamed to win the event and a $25,000 check to donate to the charities of their choice. Stephenson donated her share to the Crossroads Foundation, an organization that supports military veterans through the game of golf. Stacy donated her portion to the Crossroads Foundation, Guardian Angels of Southwest Florida, Mote Marine Laboratory and Our Daily Bread of Bradenton (Fla.).

The Spirit Golf Association has contributed more than $12 million to its charitable activities.

Jan Stephenson (from left), Hollis Stacy, Alli Jarrett, Ruth and Nolan Ryan at the Spirit Hall of Fame Dinner at Whispering Pines Golf Club.

The Spirit Hall of Fame Game followed the successful 2019 Spirit International Amateur Golf Championship, a premiere golf event featuring the world’s best men and women amateur golfers representing their respective countries in team and individual competitions, held Nov. 7-9 at Whispering Pines. Winners from the event, which features five separate competitions played simultaneously, included Team France (Combined International Championship); Team USA’s Cole Hammer and Andy Ogletree (Men’s Team Championship); Team Korea’s Jeong Hyun Lee and Yoon Ina (Women’s Team Championship); Jack Trent, Australia (Men’s Individual) and Jeong Hyun Lee, Korea (Women’s Individual).