In Other Golf News

2021 Masters field: Every golfer set to tee it up this year at Augusta

85 players, including 19 past champions, are expected to compete in April 8-11 event at Augusta National Golf Club

Eighty-five players are expected to compete in the Masters on April 8-11 at Augusta National Golf Club, according to the club’s roster of invitees.

Two past champions, Argentina’s Angel Cabrera and American Tiger Woods, are eligible but not expected to appear. Cabrera recently was extradited from Brazil to his homeland to face a series of charges related to domestic-violence incidents, and Woods broke his leg and underwent two rounds of surgery after he crashed a vehicle Feb. 23 near Los Angeles. Cabrera and Woods are among 15 past champions who were not expected to compete.

That leaves 19 former Masters winners, who retain lifetime invitations and were expected to compete: Fred Couples, Sergio Garcia, Trevor Immelman, Dustin Johnson, Zach Johnson, Bernhard Langer, Sandy Lyle, Phil Mickelson, Larry Mize, Jose Maria Olazabal, Patrick Reed, Charl Schwartzel, Adam Scott, Vijay Singh, Jordan Spieth, Bubba Watson, Mike Weir, Danny Willett and Ian Woosnam.

Johnson is the defending champion, having won the delayed 2020 Masters title in November, and was listed as the favorite to win a second consecutive green jacket.

Because of the COVID-19 pandemic’s effect on the 2020 golf schedule and the elimination of numerous tournaments, only three amateurs received invitations: England’s Joe Long (British Amateur champion), American Charles Osborne (U.S. Amateur runner-up) and American Tyler Strafaci (U.S. Amateur champion).

Professional golfers still have a few ways to play their way into the 2021 Masters: win the Honda Classic, WGC Match Play or Texas Open on the PGA Tour in the next three weeks or finish among the top 50 in the Official World Golf Ranking that updates Monday, April 5.

Here is a look at the field, listed alphabetically and with their home countries in parentheses (“x” denotes past champion; “a” denotes amateur):

Abraham Ancer (Mexico)
Daniel Berger (U.S.)
Christiaan Bezuidenhout (South Africa)
Patrick Cantlay (U.S.)
Paul Casey (England)
Cameron Champ (U.S.)
Stewart Cink (U.S.)
Corey Conners (Canada)
x-Fred Couples (U.S.)
Jason Day (Australia)
Bryson DeChambeau (U.S.)
Harris English (U.S.)
Tony Finau (U.S.)
Matthew Fitzpatrick (England)
Tommy Fleetwood (England)
Dylan Frittelli (South Africa)
x-Sergio Garcia (Spain)
Brian Gay (U.S.)
Lanto Griffin (U.S.)
Tyrrell Hatton (England)
Jim Herman (U.S.)
Max Homa (U.S.)
Billy Horschel (U.S.)
Viktor Hovland (Norway)
Mackenzie Hughes (Canada)
Sungjae Im (South Korea)
x-Trevor Immelman (South Africa)
x-Dustin Johnson (U.S.)
x-Zach Johnson (U.S.)
Si Woo Kim (South Korea)
Kevin Kisner (U.S.)
Brooks Koepka (U.S.)
Jason Kokrak (U.S.)
Matt Kuchar (U.S.)
Martin Laird (Scotland)
x-Bernhard Langer (Germany)
Marc Leishman (Australia)
a-Joe Long (England)
Shane Lowry (Ireland)
x-Sandy Lyle (Scotland)
Hideki Matsuyama (Japan)
Rory McIlroy (Northern Ireland)
x-Phil Mickelson (U.S.)
x-Larry Mize (U.S.)
Francesco Molinari (Italy)
Collin Morikawa (U.S.)
Sebastian Munoz (Colombia)
Kevin Na (U.S.)
Joaquin Niemann (Chile)
x-Jose Maria Olazabal (Spain)
Louis Oosthuizen (South Africa)
Carlos Ortiz (Mexico)
a-Charles Osborne (U.S.)
Ryan Palmer (U.S.)
C.T. Pan (Taiwan)
Victor Perez (France )
Ian Poulter (England)
Jon Rahm (Spain)
x-Patrick Reed (U.S.)
Justin Rose (England)
Xander Schauffele (U.S.)
Scottie Scheffler (U.S.)
x-Charl Schwartzel (South Africa)
x-Adam Scott (Australia)
Webb Simpson (U.S.)
x-Vijay Singh (Fiji)
Cameron Smith (Australia)
x-Jordan Spieth (U.S.)
Henrik Stenson (Sweden)
a-Tyler Strafaci (U.S.)
Robert Streb (U.S.)
Hudson Swafford (U.S.)
Justin Thomas (U.S.)
Michael Thompson (U.S.)
Brendon Todd (U.S.)
Jimmy Walker (U.S.)
Matt Wallace (England)
x-Bubba Watson (U.S.)
x-Mike Weir (Canada)
Lee Westwood (England)
Bernd Wiesberger (Austria)
x-Danny Willett (England)
Matthew Wolff (U.S.)
Gary Woodland (U.S.)
x-Ian Woosnam (Wales)

Past champions who will not be competing: Tommy Aaron, Jack Burke Jr., Angel Cabrera, Charles Coody, Ben Crenshaw, Nick Faldo, Raymond Floyd, Bob Goalby, Jack Nicklaus, Mark O’Meara, Gary Player, Craig Stadler, Tom Watson, Tiger Woods, Fuzzy Zoeller

Sign up to receive the Morning Read newsletter, along with Where To Golf Next and The Equipment Insider.

Related Stories