In Other Golf News

2021 Players Championship tee times at TPC Sawgrass

Dustin Johnson, Bryson DeChambeau and Collin Morikawa form featured pairing for 2 rounds of PGA Tour's flagship event

Golf’s glitterati will be at TPC Sawgrass this week for the Players Championship, which features the richest prize fund and often the best collection of talent on the PGA Tour.

The pairings for the first and second rounds were released Tuesday, and the all-American 1 p.m. Thursday group on the first tee in Ponte Vedra Beach, Fla., should draw plenty of attention. Dustin Johnson, the No. 1-ranked player in the world and the reigning Masters champion, was grouped with No. 6 Bryson DeChambeau, who won the Arnold Palmer Invitational on Sunday, and No. 4 Collin Morikawa, who won the WGC Workday title one week earlier. DeChambeau, who won the U.S. Open, and Morikawa, the PGA champion, also are reigning major champions.

In another featured pairing, No. 3 Justin Thomas and No. 9 Patrick Cantlay, both of the U.S., will join No. 13 Viktor Hovland of Norway at 7:29 a.m. on the 10th tee. They will be followed by a trio of former major champions – Spain’s Sergio Garcia, American Webb Simpson and Northern Ireland’s Rory McIlroy – at 7:40 a.m. on No. 10.

Attendance at the four-day, 72-hole stroke-play event will be limited to 20 percent of capacity. The $15 million tournament, the third of four consecutive events on the Florida Swing, will pay $2.7 million to the winner. For complete tee times in the 154-man field, click here.

Sign up to receive the Morning Read newsletter, along with Where To Golf Next and The Equipment Insider.

Related Stories