In Other Golf News

Sahith Theegala sweeps college golf awards

Former Pepperdine player, who since has turned pro, adds Jack Nicklaus Award to his Fred Haskins and Ben Hogan trophies, becoming only the 5th player so honored

Completed: By former Pepperdine player Sahith Theegala, a season sweep of college awards as he was named winner of the Jack Nicklaus Award on Wednesday. Theegala, who turned pro after the coronavirus-abbreviated spring season, already had won the Fred Haskins and Ben Hogan awards in honor of a year in which he won twice and was ranked No. 1 by Golfweek and Golfstat. He is only the fifth player to sweep the three NCAA Division I golf awards since the Hogan Award began using its current format in 2002, joining Stanford’s Patrick Rodgers (2014), UNLV’s Ryan Moore (2005), Wale Forest’s Bill Haas (2004) and Oklahoma State’s Hunter Mahan (2003). The Nicklaus Award winners in the lower divisions of college golf: Delta State’s Zach Zediker (D2), Illinois Wesleyan’s Rob Wuethrich (D3), Dalton (Ga.) State’s Ben Rebne (NAIA) and Mississippi Gulf Coast’s Jon Hopkins (junior college).

Sign up to receive the Morning Read newsletter, along with Where To Golf Next and The Equipment Insider.

Related Stories