In Other Golf News

2020 Travelers field: Here’s every PGA Tour player set to tee off at TPC River Highlands

Top 7 in world commit to play this week as Tour prepares for 3rd tournament since season restart amid coronavirus pandemic

For the third consecutive week, the PGA Tour will gather the top five players in the world at the same tournament. In fact, this week, the top seven have committed.

The Travelers Championship, which begins Thursday at TPC River Highlands in Cromwell, Conn., confirmed late Friday that the top seven players in the Official World Golf Ranking will tee it up in suburban Hartford. The Travelers will be the third tournament since the PGA Tour resumed play with a revised 2020 schedule amid the coronavirus pandemic. The Travelers is the first event that will be played in its original time slot. In recent years, the tournament has followed the U.S. Open.

Rory McIlroy, Jon Rahm, Brooks Koepka, Justin Thomas, Dustin Johnson, Patrick Reed and Patrick Cantlay, who ranked Nos. 1-7, respectively, in the OWGR committed to play this week. No. 8 Adam Scott has declined to travel from his home in Australia to the U.S. and be subjected to mandatory two-week quarantines on both ends of the trip.

For a third consecutive week since the season restart, Tiger Woods will not play. Woods, who is No. 13 in the world and will be the defending champion at the Masters, has given no indication of when he might resume play. Woods has not competed in an official tournament since Feb. 16, when he shot 6-over 77 at Riviera and faded to 68th place in the Genesis Invitational, which benefits his TGR Foundation. Woods skipped last year’s debut of the Rocket Mortgage Classic, which will be played next week at Detroit Golf Club. The following week, the inaugural Workday Charity Open will be played in the first of two consecutive events at Muirfield Village Golf Club in Dublin, Ohio, where Woods is a five-time winner of Jack Nicklaus’ Memorial Tournament.

Phil Mickelson, who won the 2001 and ’02 titles at what was then the Greater Hartford Open, will compete for the first time since he turned 50 on June 16. Three-time champion Bubba Watson (2010, 2015, 2018) will be joined by defending champion Chez Reavie plus other champions of the past decade, Russell Knox (2016), Marc Leishman (2012), Jordan Spieth (2017), Kevin Streelman (2014), in the field.


An, Byeong Hun

Ancer, Abraham

Armour, Ryan

Baddeley, Aaron

Berger, Daniel

Bjerregaard, Lucas

Blair, Zac

Bradley, Keegan

Brown, Scott

Bryan, Wesley

Burgoon, Bronson

Burns, Sam

Cabrera Bello, Rafa

Cantlay, Patrick

Casey, Paul

Cauley, Bud

Chalmers, Greg

Champ, Cameron

Chappell, Kevin

Cink, Stewart

Clark, Wyndham

Conners, Corey

Cook, Austin

Dahmen, Joel

Day, Jason

DeChambeau, Bryson

Donald, Luke

Duncan, Tyler

Every, Matt

Finau, Tony

Fitzpatrick, Matthew

Frittelli, Dylan

Furyk, Jim

Garcia, Sergio

Garnett, Brice

Gay, Brian

Glover, Lucas

Gooch, Talor

Gordon, Will

Grace, Branden

Griffin, Lanto

Grillo, Emiliano

Hadley, Chesson

Hahn, James

Harman, Brian

Harrington, Scott

Henley, Russell

Henry, J.J.

Higgs, Harry

Hoag, Bo

Hoffman, Charley

Hoge, Tom

Homa, Max

Horschel, Billy

Hossler, Beau

Hovland, Viktor

Hubbard, Mark

Hughes, Mackenzie

Im, Sungjae

Johnson, Dustin

Johnson, Zach

Jones, Matt

Kang, Sung

Kim, Michael

Kim, Si Woo

Kisner, Kevin

Kizzire, Patton

Knox, Russell

Koepka, Brooks

Kokrak, Jason

Kuest, Peter

Lashley, Nate

Lebioda, Hank

Lee, Danny

Lee, Kyoung-Hoon

Leishman, Marc

List, Luke

Long, Adam

Love III, Davis

Lovemark, Jamie

Lowry, Shane

Mahan, Hunter

Malnati, Peter

McCarthy, Denny

McDowell, Graeme

McIlroy, Rory

Merritt, Troy

Mickelson, Phil

Mitchell, Keith

Moore, Ryan

Morikawa, Collin

Murray, Grayson

Muñoz, Sebastián

Na, Kevin

NeSmith, Matthew

Niemann, Joaquin

Noh, Seung-Yul

Norlander, Henrik

Oosthuizen, Louis

Ortiz, Carlos

Palmer, Ryan

Pan, C.T.

Poston, J.T.

Potter, Jr., Ted

Poulter, Ian

Rahm, Jon

Reavie, Chez

Redman, Doc

Reed, Patrick

Rodgers, Patrick

Rose, Justin

Ryder, Sam

Schauffele, Xander

Scheffler, Scottie

Schenk, Adam

Schwartzel, Charl

Shelton, Robby

Simpson, Webb

Singh, Vijay

Sloan, Roger

Smith, Cameron

Snedeker, Brandt

Spaun, J.J.

Spieth, Jordan

Stallings, Scott

Stanley, Kyle

Steele, Brendan

Straka, Sepp

Streelman, Kevin

Stricker, Steve

Stroud, Chris

Stuard, Brian

Swafford, Hudson

Taylor, Vaughn

Theegala, Sahith

Thomas, Justin

Thompson, Michael

Todd, Brendon

Trainer, Martin

Tringale, Cameron

Tway, Kevin

Van Pelt, Bo

Varner III, Harold

Vegas, Jhonattan

Wallace, Matt

Watson, Bubba

Werenski, Richy

Willett, Danny

Wise, Aaron

Wolff, Matthew

Woodland, Gary

Zhang, Xinjun


Percy, Cameron

Trahan, D.J.

Davis, Cameron

Cappelen, Sebastian

Gómez, Fabián

Hearn, David

Bramlett, Joseph

Streb, Robert

Oppenheim, Rob

Wilkinson, Tim

Sign up to receive the Morning Read newsletter, along with Where To Golf Next and The Equipment Insider.

Related Stories