In Other Golf News

USGA elects Stu Francis as president

Francis, an investment-banking advisory executive from Hillsborough, Calif., will serve a 3-year term leading the association’s Executive Committee

Elected: As the U.S. Golf Association’s president, J. Stuart “Stu” Francis of Hillsborough, Calif., the USGA announced Saturday at its annual meeting in Pinehurst, N.C. Francis will serve a three-year term leading the USGA’s Executive Committee, which serves as the policy-making board and helps oversee the USGA’s staff. Francis, a senior managing director for Evercore, an investment-banking advisory firm, is entering his sixth year on the Executive Committee. Also elected to the Executive Committee: Anthony Anderson, Michael Bailey, Stephen Beebe, Paul Brown, Thomas Barkin, Kendra Graham, Martha Lang, Courtney Myhrum, Fred Perpall, Deborah Platt Majoras, Nick Price, Sharon Ritchey and William Siart.

In other news, the USGA announced that:

* The medal presented to the winner of the U.S. Women’s Open has been renamed in honor of the late Mickey Wright, who died Feb. 17 at age 85. Wright, a four-time U.S. Women’s Open champion, won 82 times on the LPGA, including 13 major titles, to rank second all-time in both categories. She was inducted into the World Golf Hall of Fame in 1976. In 2012, Wright became only the fourth golfer – and first woman – to be honored with an eponymous exhibition room at the USGA Golf Museum in Liberty Corner, N.J., joining such icons as Ben Hogan, Bob Jones and Arnold Palmer, and three years later, Jack Nicklaus.

* Diana Murphy and Pam Murray will serve as captains for the U.S. teams in the World Amateur Team events this fall in Singapore. The Women’s World Amateur Team Championship will be played Oct. 14-17 at Tanah Merah Country Club and Sentosa Golf Club, and the men’s event will follow the next week, on Oct. 21-24. Both tournaments will be four-day, 72-hole stroke-play events, with the low two scores from each three-person team counting daily. Murphy served as the USGA’s president in 2016-17, and Murray was the chairwoman of the USGA’s Women’s Committee in 2017-18.

Sign up to receive the Morning Read newsletter, along with Where To Golf Next and The Equipment Insider.

Related Stories