In Other Golf News

5 amateurs accept spots in LPGA's ANA Inspiration

Women's 1st major event of season competes with Augusta National Women’s Amateur for top female amateurs’ attention

Accepted: By five female amateurs, exemptions into the LPGA’s first major championship of the season, the ANA Inspiration. Northern Ireland’s Olivia Mehaffey, a senior at Arizona State; American Kaitlyn Papp, a junior at Texas; Australia’s Gabriela Ruffels, a junior at Arizona State and the 2019 U.S. Women’s Amateur champion; China’s Angelina Ye, a freshman at Stanford and winner of the 2019 U.S. Girls’ Junior; and American Rose Zhang, the top-ranked junior and winner of the 2018 ANA Junior Inspiration will play. The ANA Inspiration is scheduled for April 2-5 at Mission Hills Country Club in Rancho Mirage, Calif. The final amateur spot will go to the winner of the ANA Junior Inspiration, which will be held one week before the ANA Inspiration. For the second consecutive year, the LPGA’s first major championship will be played opposite the Augusta National Women’s Amateur and compete for the attention of the top female amateurs.

Related Stories