In Other Golf News

Players Amateur calls it quits after 20 years

S.C. amateur event features list of future PGA Tour winners

Ended: After 20 years, the Players Amateur tournament, which had been held each summer at Berkeley Hall Club in Bluffton, S.C., the Heritage Classic Foundation announced. Foundation president Steve Wilmot told Golfweek’s Julie Williams that his organization needs to focus on running the PGA Tour’s RBC Heritage. The Players champion had been awarded a spot in the RBC Heritage at nearby Harbour Town Golf Links. The list of Players champions includes such future PGA Tour winners as Ben Curtis (2000), Bill Haas (2002), Camilo Villegas (2003), Brian Harman (2005), Rickie Fowler (2007) and Kevin Tway (2010).

Related Stories