Golf Talk America

Why this Patrick Reed controversy is much ado about nothing

Golf Talk America.jpg

Patrick Reed was embroiled in a controversial ruling at the Farmers Insurance Open last weekend when he picked up his ball from the deep rough near the 10th-hole green before calling an official to see whether it was embedded.

Reed wasn't penalized and went on to win the tournament, but was the ruling fair? In this episode, the guys say "yes." They say the CBS broadcast team blew it out to be a larger issue, and Reed’s history of rules controversies further amplified it. Reed received much more negative coverage than Rory McIlroy, who had a similar situation arise during his round, and it was – to be frank – a dull weekend. So, the CBS team made much more about the ruling than really necessary, possibly to boost ratings.

RELATED: Patrick Reed, golf's No. 1 villain, strikes again

Want to hear more? Hit the play button above, and look for more new episodes of Golf Talk America coming soon to the Morning Read Podcast Network.

Sign up to receive the Morning Read newsletter, along with Where To Golf Next and The Equipment Insider.


Related Stories
|