From The Inbox

Jack Nicklaus merely said what many golfers think

Alex Miceli ‘made a mistake’ in criticizing ‘the greatest golfer ever’ for his endorsement of President Donald Trump, but reader says that’s no reason to unsubscribe from Morning Read

I’ve read many of the responses to Alex Miceli about his disappointment with Jack Nicklaus for supporting President Donald Trump ("From the Morning Read inbox," Nov. 2; Nov. 3; Nov. 4). Though I won’t unsubscribe from Morning Read, I have to say that Miceli made a mistake ("It's no golden moment for Golden Bear," Oct. 30).

Most responses were of like-minded golfers. Why bring politics into my golf read? I don’t care about another person’s politics, and I don’t feel like I should be shamed for agreeing with the greatest golfer ever, Jack Nicklaus, for endorsing the president for a second term.

No matter the outcome of the election, Nicklaus had the courage to interject politics among golfers, and he should be applauded. If you don’t agree, that’s OK. Golf is a wonderful game. We have different outcomes and opinions.

Thank you, Jack Nicklaus, for speaking the minds of millions of golfers who play this great game.

Andrew Doll
San Francisco

Speaking of mistakes …
John Hawkins states that Roberto De Vicenzo’s apparent victory at the 1968 Masters was renounced by his scorecard error. De Vicenzo, by not making his scorecard error, would have gotten into a next-day playoff with Bob Goalby (“Rules mishaps define another sort of Masters tradition,” Nov. 4). Who is to say who would have won?

My father was a friend of Goalby’s, and I was with Goalby a few times as a teenager. He was nothing short of a gentleman and stated many times that he wanted to have a playoff. Unfortunately, the rules did not allow it.

In the early 1970s, I was following Goalby at the PGA Tour's Quad Cities Open, and there was a group in his gallery openly rooting against him. When I asked why, they replied, “Because of what he did to Roberto De Vicenzo.”

Bob Goalby got a bad rap for doing nothing wrong. He is the 1968 Masters champion and should be remembered as such.

Richard Robinson
La Quinta, Calif.

Editor’s note: The commentary referenced by Richard Robinson has been amended to reflect the fact that De Vicenzo would have tied Goalby in the 1968 Masters and not won outright.

Morning Read invites reader comment. Write to editor Steve Harmon at steve@morningread.com. Please provide your name and city of residence. If your comment is selected for publication, Morning Read will contact you to verify the authenticity of the email and confirm your identity. We will not publish your email address. We reserve the right to edit for clarity and brevity.

Sign up to receive the Morning Read newsletter, along with Where To Golf Next and The Equipment Insider.